How current F1 standings would look in old points system draws up fascinating table

F1: Can Lewis Hamilton do it again?

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Lewis Hamilton and Max Verstappen are embroiled in one of the most intense F1 title battles in recent history this season – but how would the standings look in the previous points system? Express Sport takes a look at what would change in the standings if only the top eight scored points and just 10 points were awarded for a race win.

F1 has trialled different point-scoring systems throughout the sport’s history where originally the top five drivers would be rewarded between 1950 and 1960 while there was also a confusing format in which not all races counted towards the championship.

Then for the next three decades, that was increased to the top six with nine points given to the winner, six for second-place.

Grand Prix winners were then given an extra point between 1991 and 2002 before that scoring system was increased to the top eight drivers in 2003.

In 2010 though, the points system was overhauled from its original format with winning drivers being awarded 25 and the top 10 all being rewarded.

F1 bosses at the time stated that a seven-point gap between first and second promoted a ‘race-to-win’ attitude and the 2010 championship proved to be a fascinating four-way battle between Sebastian Vettel, Fernando Alonso, Mark Webber and Lewis Hamilton.

JUST IN: Red Bull request to frustrate Lewis Hamilton ‘thrown out’ by FIA

But there have been some issues in recent years, with Mercedes and Hamilton in particular running away with the championship each season.

This year has proven different with Red Bull bringing the fight to Mercedes as both Hamilton and Verstappen are neck-and-neck in the standings after 15 races.

There have also been some surprise results from the likes of Esteban Ocon and Daniel Ricciardo, while George Russell has continued to impress at Williams.

With F1 introducing drastic changes to their cars in 2022, there has also been some talk on whether the points system needs a revamp.

How that would work exactly remains unclear, but Express Sport takes a look at how the current F1 standings would look if they remained the same from 2009 without any points for fastest lap.


At the moment, Hamilton leads Verstappen by just two points in the championship with Bottas nearly 100 behind them both.

Interestingly, little would change at the top had F1 kept the same points system format with the gap between Hamilton and Verstappen down to just one.

Bottas meanwhile would still be third in the standings on 59 points, 43 behind Verstappen.

In fact, the current top 10 would remain exactly the same, although Ricciardo (eighth) and Bottas would be separated by just 22 points instead of the current 56.

There are some differentials further down the standings though as Sebastian Vettel and Ocon would swap places, while Russell would be bumped up to 13th, moving ahead of Lance Stroll and Yuki Tsunoda.

With no points being on offer for ninth or below, Antonio Giovinazzi would be sitting on zero points, along with Haas duo Mick Schumacher and Nikita Mazepin.

Find the full hypothetical standings below.

Current F1 standings in old points system

1st – Hamilton = 103

2nd – Verstappen = 102

3rd – Bottas = 59

4th – Norris = 55

5th – Perez = 47

6th – Sainz = 43

7th – Leclerc = 42

8th – Ricciardo = 37

9th – Gasly = 25

10th – Alonso = 19

11th – Vettel = 16

12th – Ocon = 14

13th – Russell = 9

14th – Stroll = 6

15th – Tsunoda = 5

16th – Latifi = 2

17th – Raikkonen = 1

Source: Read Full Article