Max Verstappen has more penalty points than F1 title rivals

Max Verstappen will be treading a disciplinary tightrope if he transgresses at any of the upcoming Formula 1 races.

Drivers are handed penalty points if they commit an offence during a race weekend and Verstappen has seven points from four separate incidents on his record. The Dutch driver has two points for causing his collision with Lewis Hamilton at last year’s Italian Grand Prix and he picked up three further penalties in 2021, firstly for failing to respect double yellow flags during qualifying at the Qatar Grand Prix (two points).

He was then in trouble twice at last year's contentious Saudi Arabian Grand Prix, picking up one point for leaving the track and gaining an advantage and a further two for causing another collision with Hamilton when he was deemed to have braked too heavily in front of the Mercedes driver during a safety car.

READ MORE: Max Verstappen sets out conditions to Netflix after ending Drive to Survive boycott

Points stay on a driver’s record for 12 months following the incident, so Verstappen’s tally will not start to come down until September 12, the anniversary of his Monza clash with Hamilton. If he reaches 12 points between now and then he will be hit with an immediate race ban. There are six races before that date in Austria, France, Hungary, Belgium, the Netherlands and Italy.

Lance Stroll is also on seven points with Fernando Alonso and Yuki Tsunoda next up on six. Hamilton has two points on his record after being deemed to have caused the collision with Verstappen at last year’s British Grand Prix, although those points will expire following this weekend’s Austrian Grand Prix.

Who is the dirtiest racer on the F1 grid? Have your say in the comments section below.

F1 penalty points as follows:

Seven points: Max Verstappen, Lance Stroll

Six points: Fernando Alonso, Yuki Tsunoda

Four points: Esteban Ocon, Pierre Gasley, Alex Albon

Three points: Valtteri Bottas

Two points: Lewis Hamilton, Daniel Ricciardo, Kevin Magnussen

One point: George Russell, Sergio Perez, Nicholas Latifi, Zhou Guanyu

No points: Charles Leclerc, Carlos Sainz, Lando Norris, Sebastian Vettel, Mick Schumacher.


  • Read the latest F1 news from the Daily Star here
  • Claims of Ferrari mutiny surface as team members 'refuse' to celebrate Carlos Sainz win
  • Jeremy Clarkson wades in as F1 fans back Martin Brundle amid Gary Lineker Twitter spat
  • Max Verstappen pictured smiling with AlphaTauri bodywork that ruined his British GP

Source: Read Full Article