Tuilagi sees red for tackle on George North in Six Nations win

England star Manu Tuilagi sees red for BRUTAL high tackle on George North in Six Nations win over Wales… but head coach Eddie Jones insists decision was ‘bizarre’ and ‘absolute rubbish’

  • England won Triple Crown and kept Six Nations hopes alive with win over Wales 
  • Manu Tuilagi scored try but then sent off for dangerous tackle on George North 
  • As wing headed for try line, Tuilagi made contact with North’s head in the tackle 
  • Several pundits claimed the centre should not have seen red for the incident 

Eddie Jones launched a scathing attack on the decision to send off Manu Tuilagi for a high tackle during England’s 33-30 Six Nations victory against Wales at Twickenham. 

With England 33-16 ahead after 74 minutes, Tuilagi and Henry Slade tackled George North as the wing ran towards the tryline but the centre appeared to catch his opponent in the head with a shoulder.

After consulting the Television Match official, referee Ben O’Keeffe opted to dismiss Tuilagi for a dangerous tackle – to the fury of England boss Jones.   

Ben O’Keeffe shows Manu Tuilagi a red card during England’s victory over Wales on Saturday

The centre made contact with the head of George North during an attempted tackle

England head coach Eddie Jones was left furious with the decision to dismiss his player

In the aftermath, Jones said: ‘I find it bizarre. Absolute rubbish’ 

Tuilagi, who earlier scored England’s third try after Anthony Watson and Elliot Daly had crossed for hosts in the first half, will now likely face a ban for the dismissal.

After the red card, with England down to 13 following a yellow for Ellis Genge a minute earlier, Wales scored through Dan Biggar and Justin Tipuric to finish the game 33-30 and earn a losing bonus point. 

Several pundits also came to the defence of Tuilagi, with Dawson among those to suggest a lesser punishment should have been given. 

The 28-year-old was shown England’s first red card since Elliot Daly was dismissed in 2016

Dawson told the BBC: ‘If that was a World Cup final, I don’t believe Manu Tuilagi gets sent off. I think it’s circumstantial to England being 33-16 up at home.’ 

On commentary for ITV, Lawrence Dallaglio also suggested the card was the wrong colour.

He said: ‘For what it is worth I think Tuilagi is a little hard done by there. 

‘I think there was mitigation, I don’t think there was intent and I think a yellow would have been enough.

‘The referee didn’t see it that way and England will feel aggrieved.’

Tuilagi had earlier managed to cross for England’s third try that appeared to seal victory

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article