Football rule technicality explains why Mbappe’s ‘offside’ goal was allowed

Kylian Mbappe's goal ten minutes from time proved to be the winner as his side defeated Spain 2-1 to win the Nations League Final on Sunday.

The Frenchman became the hero after previously being the villain during the summer, as it was his penalty miss that meant France were knocked out of Euro 2022 as Switzerland progressed.

However, fans were bewildered as Mbappe appeared to be blatantly offside in the build-up to his winning goal, but it still stood due to a specific technicality on one of football's most famous laws.

Fans remained confused, but the exception to this rule has now been explained in detail.

Mbappe was played through in an offside position, but Spanish defender Eric Garcia attempted to intervene which judged the Frenchman to now be onside by officials.

Dale Johnson of ESPN explained the technicality: "The point when the ball is touched by the passer purely sets each player's position relative to each other for offside. It's what happens after this which decides if there is any offence.

Will France win the 2022 World Cup? Have your say in the comments below.

"This is the clause which is key to the onside decision in the Kylian Mbappe goal. 'A player in an offside position receiving the ball from an opponent who deliberately plays the ball, including by deliberate handball, is not considered to have gained an advantage'.

"Eric Garcia makes a deliberate play for the ball, and because he touches it that is considered to reset the offside phase and play Kylian Mbappe onside. If Garcia missed the ball completely at this point, Mbappe would be offside and the goal disallowed.

"An important factor in the decision is the distance between Mbappe and Garcia. The consideration here is Mbappe cannot be "challenging an opponent," which would have been an offside offence."

Source: Read Full Article